Did you know that companies respond to lawyers more than to their users? Have a lawyer send an email on your behalf requesting deletion.Send legal email
You can deactivate your Duolingo account by logging into your account from a computer browser. You cannot deactivate your account from within the mobile app. Deactivation offers you a break in service without losing any of your saved settings, your email address or your username associated with your account. To deactivate your account follow the steps below.
Step #2: Click the username on the top right
Click the username on the top right
Step #3: Click settings from the drop down menu
Click settings from the drop down menu
Step #4: Scroll down and click disable my account
Scroll down and click disable my account
Step #5: Click disable my account to confirm deactivation
Click disable my account to confirm deactivation
Please note, you will be able to reactivate your account just by logging back in.
If you'd like to learn how to stay protected when browsing online from one tip each week, please do join the email list
If you deactivate your account you have the option of restoring your account just by logging in, plus your username is saved and cannot be used by anyone else. If you delete your account you lose all of your information and it can never be restored. You will have a 7-day grace period after you request deletion in case you change your mind. However, once you complete deletion to your account this action cannot be undone.
No. it is important to note that if you are a Duolingo plus subscriber via the mobile apps, deleting your account will not suspend charges, those are done by Apple or Google. For more information on canceling your subscription click here.
You will be able to reactivate your account just by logging back in. All of your information will be restored.
If you deactivate your account, your username and email associated with your account will be reserved so that nobody else can sign up with those. Any messages in the forum posted by you under this account will appear as deactivated user unless you reactivate the account.