How To Delete Your Telegram Account

Deleting your Telegram is easy. You can do so from a computer browser or from a mobile device. Telegram offers a deactivation link for easy deletion of your account. Follow the steps below.

Delete Telegram - Website - Slides & Instructions

Telegram-Delete Account from Website. Step 1: Enter phone number to login
Telegram-Delete Account from Website. Step 2: Copy the Confirmation Code Sent to your Telegram Account
Telegram-Delete Account from Website. Step 3: Navigate Back to the Deactivation Page, Enter Confirmation Code and Click Sign in
Telegram-Delete Account from Website. Step 4: Choose a Reason For Deletion and Click Done
Telegram-Delete Account from Website. Step 5: Click Yes Delete My Account
Prev
Next
  • Step #1:

    Click here to open the Telegram deactivation page. Enter phone number to login and click next

  • Step #2:

    Copy the confirmation code sent to your Telegram account

  • Step #3:

    Navigate back to the deactivation page, enter confirmation code and click sign in

  • Step #4:

    Choose a reason for deletion and click done

  • Step #5:

    Click yes delete my account

Delete Telegram - iOS - Slides & Instructions

Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 1: Open Telegram App
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 2: Tap settings gear on bottom right
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 3: Tap Telegram FAQ
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 4: Scroll down and tap deleting your account
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 5: Tap deactivation page
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 6: Enter phone number to log back in and wait for confirmation code
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 7: Tap the Telegram message on the top of the screen to open
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 8: Copy the confirmation code sent to your Telegram account
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 9: Enter the confirmation code and Tap done
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 10: Give a reason for deletion and Tap done
Telegram-Delete Account from iOS. Step 11: Click yes delete my account
Prev
Next
  • Step #1:

    Open Telegram app

  • Step #2:

    Tap** settings gear** on bottom right

  • Step #3:

    Tap Telegram FAQ

  • Step #4:

    Scroll down and tap deleting your account

  • Step #5:

    Tap deactivation page

  • Step #6:

    Enter phone number to log back in and wait for confirmation code

  • Step #7:

    Tap the** Telegram message **on the top of the screen to open

  • Step #8:

    Copy the confirmation code sent to your Telegram account

  • Step #9:

    Enter the confirmation code and Tap done

  • Step #10:

    Give a reason for deletion and tap done

  • Step #11:

    Click yes delete my account

Delete Telegram - Android - Slides & Instructions

Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 1: Open Android App
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 2: Tap three bars
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 3: Tap settings
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 4: Tap deleting your Telegram account
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 5: Tap deactivation page
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 6: Enter phone number and tap next
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 7: Confirmation code
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 8: Tap done
Telegram- Delete account from Android. Step 9: Tap yes, delete my account
Prev
Next

Please note that termination of a Telegram account is an irreversible process.

Deleting Telegram? Share Your Experiences

Telegram logo

Telegram

  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star

Minimum 10 words

Questions & Answers

Question:
What happens if I delete my Telegram account?
Answer:

All your data will be flushed from their system: all messages, groups, and contacts associated with your account will be deleted. Termination of a Telegram account is irreversible. If you sign up again, you will appear as a new user and will not get your history, contacts or groups back. People, who have your phone number in their contacts, will be notified. The new user will be displayed as a separate conversation in their messages list and their conversation history with this new user will be empty. Click here for more information on deleting your account.

Question:
What happens to my the messages I have sent to contacts when I delete my account?
Answer:

Your contacts will still be able to chat in the groups that you have created, and they will still have their copy of the messages you sent them. So if you want to send messages that can vanish without a trace, you can consider using the self-destruct timer instead. Click here for more information on the self-destruct timer.

Question:
Can I delete my account from my mobile device?
Answer:

The quick answer is Yes. But you must navigate to the deactivation page through the mobile app. However, we recommend that you use a non-mobile browser if possible.

Was this page helpful?
How can we improve it?
FOLLOW US