How to Delete Your Slack Account

You can only delete or deactivate your Slack account from a computer browser, you cannot do so through the app on a mobile device. Only a workspace primary owner can delete a Slack workspace. If you are not the primary owner you can deactivate your workspace. Deactivation is the same as deletion, it will remove your Slack account.

Delete Slack - Website - Slides & Instructions

Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 1: [Go to the Slack Website] (https://www.slack.com). If you're already logged in, doing so will open your Slack home page
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 2: Click your workspace name on the top left
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 3: Select Profile and Account from the Menu
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 4: Click the Gear Icon on the Right Side
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 5: Click Menu
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 6: Click Settings and Permissions
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 7: Scroll Down and Click Delete Workspace
Slack-Delete Account from Website. Step 8: Check Confirm Deletion and then Click Yes, Delete My Workspace
Prev
Next
  • Step #1:

    Click here to open Slack. If you're already logged in, doing so will open your Slack homepage

  • Step #2:

    Click your workspace name on the top left

  • Step #3:

    Select *profile and account *from the menu

  • Step #4:

    Click the *gear icon *on the right side

  • Step #5:

    Click menu

  • Step #6:

    Click settings and permissions

  • Step #7:

    Scroll down and click delete workspace

  • Step #8:

    Check confirm deletion *and then click *yes, delete my workspace

Your account will be deleted after confirm your deletion request.

Deleting Slack? Share Your Experiences

Slack logo

Slack

  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star

Minimum 10 words

Other Important Options

Questions & Answers

Question:
What happens when I deactivate or delete my Slack account?
Answer:

Deactivating your account won't delete messages or files you've shared. It is recommended that you delete content you'd like to remove before deactivating your account.

Question:
Can I reactivate a deleted or deactivated workspace?
Answer:

No. Deleting a Slack workspace cannot be undone: once you delete a workspace, all of its messages and files will be irretrievable, so it is recommended that you download a copy of your data first. You can, however, sign up again with the same email address. Click here for more on exporting data.

Question:
If I am not the primary owner of a workspace can I delete my account?
Answer:

No, but you can deactivate it. Deactivation is the same as deletion essentially. For deactivation you are deleting your account that is tied to the workspace, not the whole workspace.

Question:
Can I transfer ownership of my workspace instead of deleting my account?
Answer:

Yes. Once you transfer ownership you will be an account holder. As an account holder you have the option of deactivating your account.

Question:
Does deactivating my Slack account delete every workspace?
Answer:

No. For every workspace you've joined, you'll need to deactivate each account individually.

Was this page helpful?
How can we improve it?
FOLLOW US