You can only delete or deactivate your slack account from a computer browser, you cannot do so on a mobile device. Only a workspace primary owner can delete a Slack workspace. If you are not the primary owner you can deactivate your workspace. Deactivation is the same as deletion since the workspace will now be removed.
Delete Slack - Website - Slides & Instructions
- Step #1:
Click here to open Slack. If you’re already logging in, doing so will open your Slack Workspace.
- Step #2:
Click the settings gear on the right side
- Step #3:
Scroll down and click deactivate my account
- Step #4:
Click yes, deactivate my account
- Step #5:
Check the box and click yes deactivate my account
Your account will be deactivated after confirm your deactivation request.
Deleting Slack? Share Your Experiences
Other Important Options
Questions & Answers
Deactivating your account won't delete messages or files you've shared. It is recommended that you delete content you'd like to remove before deactivating your account.
No. Deleting a Slack workspace cannot be undone: once you delete a workspace, all of its messages and files will be irretrievable, so it is recommended that you download a copy of your data first. You can, however, sign up again with the same email address. Click here for more on downloading data.
No, but you can deactivate it. Deactivation is the same as deletion essentially. For deactivation you are deleting your account that is tied to the workspace, not the whole workspace.
No. For every workspace you've joined, you'll need to deactivate each account individually.
Yes. Once you transfer ownership you will be an account holder. As an account holder you have the option of deactivating your account.