How To Disable Your Instagram Account

You cannot delete an Instagram account using the app. Deletion has to be done via a web browser, either on a smartphone, tablet or PC. Follow the steps below.

Delete Instagram - Website - Slides & Instructions

Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 1: [Go to the Instagram Website](https://www.instagram.com). If you're already logged in, doing so will open your Instagram home page
Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 2: Click the Person Symbol in the Top Right Corner
Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 3: Click Edit Profile
Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 4: Click Temporarily Disable my Account
Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 5: Click Privacy Concerns
Instagram-Disable Account from Website. Step 6: Click Temporarily Disable my Account
Prev
Next
  • Step #1:

    Click here to open Instagram. If you're already logged in, doing so will open your Instagram homepage

  • Step #2:

    Click the person symbol in the top right corner

  • Step #3:

    Click edit profile

  • Step #4:

    Click temporarily disable my account

  • Step #5:

    Click privacy concerns

  • Step #6:

    Click** temporarily disable my account**

Remember, If you don’t want to disable or delete your account you can change your privacy setting to see who can see it.

Deleting Instagram? Share Your Experiences

Instagram logo

Instagram

  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star

Minimum 10 words

Other Important Options

Questions & Answers

Question:
Can I reactivate a deleted Instagram account?
Answer:

Once you delete your account it can never be reactivated. Be sure you want to permanently delete your account and not just disable it. After you delete your account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account.

Question:
What happens to my information when I delete my Instagram account?
Answer:

If you delete your Instagram account, everything associated with that account is permanently deleted. That includes your photos, followers, profile, comments, videos, likes, etc.

Question:
What does disabling my Instagram account mean?
Answer:

If you temporarily disable your Instagram account, your account data is still stored and when you reactivate your account, the data will be restored. As soon as you click on deactivate, the people who are following you won’t be able to see you in their following list. Also, when you disable your account you hide your photos, profile, videos, likes, and comments from the Instagram world until you log back into your account.

Question:
Can I Delete my account if I forgot my password?
Answer:

No. It’s important to note that you have to be able to log in to delete your account, meaning, Instagram will not delete it for you by any other means.

Was this page helpful?
How can we improve it?
FOLLOW US