Check if your account has been hacked in a data breach

"Breach" is an incident where your data is public for anyone to misuse

How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account

Slides & Instructions

Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 1: Login to Facebook
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 2: Click downward facing arrow
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 3: Click settings
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 4: Click your Facebook information
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 5: Click delete your account and information
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 6: Click deactivate account
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 7: Click password & continue
Facebook- Deactivate account from website. Step 8: Click deactivate
Prev
Next
  • Deactivating your Facebook account is easy. This will allow you to take a break and then return to Facebook with all of your settings in tact. To deactivate your account login to Facebook from a computer browser and follow the steps below. You cannot complete this action from within the mobile app.


  • Click here to open Facebook. If you're already logged in, doing so will open your Facebook homepage


  • Click the downward facing arrow on the top right


  • Click settings


  • Click your Facebook information on left column


  • Click delete your account and information


  • Click deactivate account


  • Enter your password and click continue


  • Enter a reason for leaving and click deactivate


  • Remember, some of your personal information may remain visible like the messages you send and etc. It is recommended that you change whatever information you can manually before deactivating or deleting your account.

Was this page helpful?
How can we improve it?

Questions & Answers

Question:
How do I reactivate my account?
Answer:

Just log back into your account and all of your settings will be restored.

Question:
What is the difference between deleting and deactivating my account?
Answer:

Once you go through the deletion Steps, it can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in backup systems to be deleted. However, your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time Even after Deletion, copies of some material (like log records) may remain in Facebook’s database, but are “disassociated from personal identifiers,” according to the company.

Company Info

Here's some useful additional information you can use to reach out to the company with your concerns